ABGINEH  PHOTOGRAPHIC STUDIES  INSTITUTE

ABGINEH PHOTOGRAPHIC STUDIES INSTITUTE

موسسه تحقیقات و مطالعات عکاسی آبگینه
ABGINEH  PHOTOGRAPHIC STUDIES  INSTITUTE

ABGINEH PHOTOGRAPHIC STUDIES INSTITUTE

موسسه تحقیقات و مطالعات عکاسی آبگینه

Shahidul Alam

As a journalist, your only space is at the edge. You have to be constantly feeling the heat. Go back one more step, and you may cease to be effective. There are no safe options, and no prizes for popularity and if you’re not making certain people uncomfortable by your presence, you are probably doing something wrong. The struggle for change is a never-ending process that requires you to be constantly alert, and forever swimming against the current. It is a lonely, stressful, tiring and immensely gratifying journey

Shahidul Alam

I am a Bangladeshi photographer, writer and activist with a special interest in education, new media and ICT. I was a research tutor at London University where I obtained a PhD in organic chemistry before taking up photography as a profession. I am a former president of the Bangladesh Photographic Society and set up the award winning Drik Picture Library. I also set up the Bangladesh Photographic Institute and Pathshala, the South Asian Institute of Photography. I am the director of Chobi Mela the festival of photography in Asia. My work has been shown in the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Tehran Museum of Contemporary Arts, the Royal Albert Hall in London and the National Art Gallery in Kuala Lumpur. I have chaired the World Press Photo international jury. I am an honorary fellow of the Royal Photographic Society, a board member of the National Geographic Society and the Eugene Smith Foundation. I am currently visiting professor inthe University of Sunderland and Regent’s Lecturer at UCLA for 2006-2007.